Regional Cups: Prize Money

There are six FIFA Confederations, each one with their own Regional Cup. Participating national teams receive a prize money during the competition. In here we are just going to observe the prize given to the winner and runner-up of the six tournaments below.

Africa: Confederation of African Football (CAF) Africa Regional Cup Prize Money

Asia: Asia Football Confederation (AFC) Asia Regional Cups: Prize Money

Europe: Union des Associations Européennes de Football (UEFA) UEFA Regional Cups: Prize Money

North and Central America, Caribbean : Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF)

Oceania: Oceania Football Confederation (OFC)

South America: Confederación Sudamericana de Fútbol (CONMEBOL)

Prize Money

The amount of money given differs by region.

Europe: EURO 2020€ 10 million
(US $11.4 million)**
€ 7 million
(US $7.98 million)**
South America: Copa América 2019US $7.5 millionUS $5 million
Asia: Asian Cup 2019US $5 millionUS $3 million
Africa: Africa Cup of Nations 2019US $4.5 millionUS $2.5 million
North and Central America, Caribbean: Gold Cup 2015*US $1 millionUS $500,000
Oceania: OFC Nations Cup 2020US $0US $0
*Only available data **Exchange Rate: 1 Euro = 1.14 USD (July 19; 1:20 UTC)

Europe and South America

The EURO and Copa América are the two most popular tournaments. They generate a great deal of attention and money since both have the best national teams (e.g. Germany, France, Brazil, Argentina) and most of the greatest football players in the world; creating a fierce competition for the title.

Asia and Africa

During the past few years, Asia has increased the prize received by the champion and runner-up. This was done to raise the level of play and boost investment in the sport.

In 2017, CAF also increased the prize for all its tournaments. The signing of Total (Oil Company) as their new sponsor was a big part of this decision.

North and Central America, Caribbean

Even though CONCACAF has 41 members, the confederation distribute the second worst monetary incentive. The interest in the sport is not huge, especially in the two biggest economies. Also, just three countries (Mexico, United States, and Canada) have won the Cup, demonstrating a lack of competition in the region.

*CONCACAF has not published the prize money received by Mexico and United States in the 2019 Gold Cup, however, 2015 is a good indicator.


Oceania is the smallest confederation with a limited budget. The majority of countries have rugby as their favorite sport, leaving football with a small audience. For these reasons, it is difficult for the OFC to hand out a prize money in the final.

*Australia is not part of the OFC, switching to the AFC in 2006.




(2018) «Prize money to increase stakes at AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019»,


(2016) “CAF increases prize funds for all of its tournaments”,

Canal RCN (Deportes)

(2019) «Premios Copa América 2019: ¿Cuánto ganó el campeón Brasil y cuánto ganó Colombia?,


Ozanian, Mike (2015) «Concacaf Promises To Pay Gold Cup Prize Money Amid FIFA Investigation»,

McMahon, Bobby (2019) «EURO 2020 Already A Huge Financial Success: Revenue, Prize Money And A Record Profit»,


Oludare, Shina (2019) «Afcon 2019 prize money: How much does the winner get?»,,runners%2Dup%20pocketing%20%242.5m.


Voerman, Andrew (2020) “New Zealand Football successful with bid to host the 2020 OFC Nations Cup”,

See also:

Canada: CONCACAF Gold Cup 2000

Deja un comentario